Lazy Days & Family

It is the third day of the New Year and I can say honestly that I have been pretty lazy. Thirty-six episodes into Gossip Girl and still going strong. I do, actually, have friends, plenty of things to do, and some sort of a life. But sometimes, it feels so nice to stay at my house and hang out with the family (and the cast of Gossip Girl as I follow their extravagant lifestyles and charmingly good looks).

Says the freshman girl home from college.

I just forced my Mom, Dad, and sister into a family hug. And it was awesome. My 17 year old sister pretended to hate it but I know she secretly appreciated it just as I did a couple years ago. Being away definitely made me realize just how good I have it. I come home and tell my parents that I am giving up my scholarship that I have worked for over six years at so that I can go to a different school and follow my dreams – whatever they may be at the moment. Not many people can say they have done that without feeling the guilt drag around constantly.

Even past my immediate family, I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. Today, I spent the day with my mom’s mom and had a fantastic time. Although Grandma’s health isn’t the greatest, we had fun shopping at Carsen’s, eating and Olive Garden and making a trip to the doctor. She has really worked hard throughout her life as a nurse starting at the age of 16. I have hardly ever heard her complain. She has saved and invested her money so that she could travel the world. Basically, she’s my inspiration.

Unfortunately, all good things come to an end. Even people. This year we lost my Grandfather, man of the family. He loved good music, always made people laugh and was loved by many. I think a lot of my optimism and humorous attitude originated from him.  And even in a time so hard, my extended family had never been so close. With the birth of my new baby cousin, Chloe, and the family together for the holidays, nothing could stop us as we stood in our traditional circle. We laughed, we cried, we took away with us all the good things from the year.

Steve Wilczynski 1947Grandpa Steve 2013

Grandpa Steve 1947                2013

To be honest, I didn’t know exactly what to write about today. I guess it can be inferred that my family always on my mind and I couldn’t be more thankful. I know that I am lucky and I hope that those who do not feel the same way I do can stay optimistic and find or make a family of their own. It doesn’t necessarily matter whether or not you are blood related; a family includes people that will be there for the laughs, the tears, and the memories.

2 thoughts on “Lazy Days & Family

Leave a reply

